Home > China &South Sudan Relations > Political Exchanges
Sino-South Sudan Political exchanges

China began friendly exchanges with Southern Sudan in 1970s when China sent medical teams and agricultural experts to provide assistance for the people there. In January 2005, China was one of the witnesses to the Comprehensive Peace Agreement signed between the north and the south of Sudan, which ended the 38-year civil war and announced the establishment of the autonomous government of South Sudan. Since then, China has started formal friendly exchanges with South Sudan and the bilateral cooperation in various fields has increased progressively.

In February 2007, Chinese President Hu Jintao made his first visit to Sudan and met in Khartoum with the First Vice President Salva Kiir Mayardit who was also President of the southern autonomous government. Then Kiir visited China twice in March 2005 and July 2007.

In September 2008, China opened the Consulate General in Juba. In February 2011, the Chinese government announced its recognition of the referendum results in Southern Sudan and China was one of the world's first counties to recognize the results. On July 9, 2011 when the Republic of South Sudan was established, China Housing and Urban-Rural Development Minister Jiang Weixin was invited as a special envoy of Hu to participate in the independence celebrations. On behalf of the Chinese government, Jiang signed the Joint Communique on the Establishment of Diplomatic Relations between the two countries with South Sudan's Foreign Minister Deng Alor Kol, meaning that on the founding day of South Sudan, China established official diplomatic relations with the new country and became one of the first countries to establish such a relation with it.

The government of South Sudan admits in the Joint Communiqué that there is only one China in the world, the government of the People's Republic of China is the sole legitimate government representing China and Taiwan is an inalienable part of China. On the same day, Chinese Ambassador to South Sudan opened the embassy. From April 23 to 26 in 2012, South Sudan's President Kiir made a state visit to China at the invitation of Hu. During the visit, Hu held talks with Kiir, Other Chinese leaders, including Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress Wu Bangguo, and Vice Premier, member of the Standing Committee of the Political bureau of the CPC Central Committee Li Keqiang met with Kiir respectively.


Important Bilateral Contacts:

Chinese officials who visited South Sudan:

-the Special Envoy of the Chinese government, Chinese Assistant Foreign Minister Zhai Jun (2008)

-Chinese Vice Foreign Minister Zhai Jun (2011)

-the special envoy of President Hu Jintao, Housing and Urban-Rural Development Minister Jiang Weixin (2011)

-Foreign Minister Yang Jiechi (2011)

-Vice Minister of Commerce Jiang Yaoping (2011)

-member of the Political Bureau, Secretariat of the CPC Central Committee and head of the Organization Department; of the CPC Central Committee Li Yuanchao(2012)

South Sudan's officials who visited China:

-SPLM Vice Chairman Salva Kiir Mayardit (2005)

-First Vice President of Sudan and the President of the semi-autonomous Government of Southern Sudan Salva Kiir Mayardit (2007)

-Minister of Agriculture and Forestry and the SPLM Deputy Secretary General for Southern Sector Ann Itto (2010)

-Minister of Labour and Public Service Awut Deng Acuil and other three ministers (2010)

-special envoy for Sudan's first Vice-President and President of the semi-autonomous government of Southern Sudan Salva Kiir Mayardit, Finance and Economic Planning Minister David Deng Athorbie (2011)

-SPLM Secretary General Bagan Amum (2011)

-President's Special Envoy and Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management Joseph Lual Acuil (2011)

-Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology Peter Adwok Nyaba (2011)

-President of South Sudan Salva Kiir Mayardit (2012)

- Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports Cirino Hiteng Ofuho (2012)

-Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Nhial Deng Nhial (2012)

-Minister of Gender, Social Welfare and Religious Affairs Agnes Kwaje Lasuba (2012)

-Majority Leader of the National Assembly Atem Garang (2012)

- Minister of Agriculture and Forestry Betty Achan Ogwaro (2012)